Health Benefits of Garbanzo Beans (Chickpeas) | John Douillard’s LifeSpa



Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/health-benefits-of-garbanzo-beans-chickpeas
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/

Health Benefits of Garbanzo Beans (Chickpeas) | John Douillard’s LifeSpa

Garbanzo beans, also called chickpeas and may be better known when made into hummus, have been the mainstay of the Mediterranean and Indian diets for thousands of years. Only recently have the health benefits been more fully understood.

As with all beans, chickpeas are LOADED with fiber and high in protein – but garbanzo beans have some special nutrients on board such as quercetin, which supports healthy circulation and immunity, and chlorogenic acid, which is the antioxidant that has made coffee famous. They are rich in vitamins like folate, riboflavin, niacin, thiamin and beta-carotene and minerals such as magnesium, potassium and manganese. They are also a good source of health-promoting fatty acids like linoleic and oleic acids, which are the main ingredients in olive oil. (1)

…read more: http://lifespa.com/health-benefits-of-garbanzo-beans-chickpeas

RELATED ARTICLES:
Beans: Spring’s Unexpected Superfood — http://lifespa.com/beans-springs-unexpected-superfood/
Tuscan Baked Beans with Kale — http://lifespa.com/tuscan-baked-beans-with-kale/
Black Beans for the Heart — http://lifespa.com/black-beans-for-the-heart/
How to Navigate the New High Fat Diet Trends & Become a Better Fat Burner — http://lifespa.com/how-to-navigate-new-high-fat-diet-trends-and-become-a-better-fat-burner/
The Science of Longevity: Top 3 Secrets — http://lifespa.com/science-longevity-top-3-secrets/
Soy: Friend, or Foe? — http://lifespa.com/soy-friend-or-foe/
The MIND Diet: Foods for Thought — http://lifespa.com/the-mind-diet-foods-for-thought/
Spring Ahead — http://lifespa.com/spring-ahead/
The Dangers of Common Protein Sources — http://lifespa.com/dangers-common-protein-sources/
Complete Protein: How Much & What Kind To Eat — http://lifespa.com/complete-protein-much-kind-eat/
Bitter Is Better — http://lifespa.com/bitter-is-better/
Avoid Hidden MSG In The Health Food Aisle — http://lifespa.com/sneaky-names-for-msg-check-your-labels/
Your Food Allergy Test Is Probably Wrong — http://lifespa.com/your-food-allergy-test-is-probably-wrong/
10 Surprising Facts About Centenarians — http://lifespa.com/10-surprising-facts-about-centenarians/
The “World’s Best Restaurant” Cooks Seasonal Food — http://lifespa.com/the-worlds-best-restaurant-cooks-seasonal-food/
Occasional Constipation: Solutions For Your Body Type — http://lifespa.com/occasional-constipation/
Life is Simple Mung Bean Chili — http://lifespa.com/life-is-simple-mung-bean-chili/



6 Comments

  1. We do not need Ayurveda to know that chickpeas are delicious and also good for our health.  Excellent video.

  2. Do a video on date fruit

  3. Your videos are amazing!!

  4. La Faraona says:

    I have pcos and candida symptoms.
    my skin reacts very bad whenever I eat dairy, wheat, nutsand eggs.
    My doctor prescribes me some anticonceptive pillls and my skin is back to normal.
    Im doubting whether I have candida or not?

  5. i dont like to eat them out of a can, and boiling them is an ordeal

  6. GetGood says:

    But isn't whole mung more of a super food than it's dehulled counterpart?

Leave a Comment